Phobia’s And Freedom…

grass2

I have two big phobia’s. Heights and tight spaces.

So you can imagine how I do on planes.

Ever since I can remember I have hated being too high or too restricted. I will never forget when Chris and I were touring the beautiful city of Munich in Germany. It was our first stop in Europe and we were ripe with excitement over our adventure. Out of pure adrenaline and no thought at all I complied to Chris’s great idea to climb to the top of a church tower.

But as soon as we started up a very narrow and steep flight of steps, I quickly realized what I was in for. The trek would be long and the tunnel would be tight. About half way up my anxiety was mounting, but I kept going. When I reached the top I was so starving for fresh air that I burst through the tower doors onto the site seeing deck. But what I found on the other side of the door’s was terror.

I was essentially standing in a mesh cage where I could see everything below me. I was high above the entire city. Chris immediately leaned over the edge as I plastered myself up against the church wall.

Two of my phobia’s were playing itself out simultaneously.

After my heart relaxed a little I was able to carefully enjoy the view and take some pictures. But I never did it again. No matter how hard Chris would try to convince me to climb some old historical building, the answer was no.

Some might say that these phobia’s are something I need to overcome. These are weakness’ that I should conquer. But because it is not something that cripple’s me or keeps me from doing God’s will I am not too concerned about it.

In fact, I would go as far as to say that God created me this way.

He created me to be stifled by some things and freed by others.

I believe this because I feel His glory when I am on the other side of those phobia’s. When my feet are planted firmly on many blades of fresh green grass and I am partaking in a wide open space, breathing in His precious air, my heart sings.

I savor His goodness.

I experience His freedom in the way I think He wants me to. Because I am enjoying Him and His vastness. We all sing of His Glory in the midst of our God-given freedom!

“Blessed be his glorious name forever; may the whole earth be filled with his glory! Amen and Amen!” ~ Psalm 72:19

This is a re-post and was originally written on June 5th, 2012.

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

