Shucking Corn To The Glory Of God…

corn1

The little town that I inhabit has corn as its claim to fame. And it just so happens that yummy corn on the cob is in season. Give it a month and my town will come alive with corn mazes and pumpkin farms. I love this time of year!

The other day, before plopping 6 delicious corn on the cobs in boiling hot water, I had the fun job of shucking them. This job is messy. But as I was pulling layer after layer of protective leaves off of the corn I marvelled at what I was beholding. The corn was perfect. They grew that way; with a cocoon of green, preserving important sustenance inside.

It’s the same for other grown food too. When a petite walnut falls from a tree it is entrapped in a hard shell to keep it safe from the elements. Banana’s always have a peel. And oranges a rind. I could go on and on.

God’s creation is marvelous.

It takes me by surprise. I am unprepared at times when I notice the miraculous in the mundane. But every day that goes by produces something to marvel at God over. And all of it was written by Him; a great writer, then spun into being and purposed for each changing season.

None of this was an accident. A mixture of elements didn’t just combust into this earth’s intricately multifaceted plantation. It wasn’t millions of years of mutation that perfected the way corn grows. All of it is the gift of an intelligent creator.

My eye exam a couple of weeks ago also reminded me that goop from the depth of the ocean was not what brought about mankind’s retina. The fact that my optometrist can see the health of almost my entire body by looking into my eyes is the greatest metaphor for how God looks into my heart and see’s the health of my soul. He created each of us intricately by connecting everything together.

Satan wants us to miss it. He wants us not to notice the supernatural in the monotonous. He wants us to explain it all away with scientific talk.

But God in His booming voice is shouting from the heavens…”I made it, and it is good!” So taste it and see His goodness, then marvel at His handwork, because all of it is miraculous.

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

