Our Father Who Loves…

download (5)

The break was needed. But as the road that led us back together seemed to stretch out longer and longer the more miles we accomplished, I found my heart longing for them even more.

There smiles of love first thing in the morning. There little hands grabbing at my shirt. Kisses on cheeks and noses pressed together. Extra long prayers for princess’s, monsters and stuffed animals. Goofy dances and running feet.

We needed our five-day anniversary getaway. And it was so glorious! But I also couldn’t wait to return once our trip was coming to an end.

No matter how hard and all-consuming this mothering thing gets. No matter how frustrated with potty-training and fights and attitudes I get. No matter how little sleep and rest is experienced. No matter how many wits-end moments I have in a day…I just can’t stop wanting my kids around. My love won’t quit.

Love like this is so confusing at times. But it is beyond beautiful.

And if this is how I feel about my own off-spring…how much more is God’s love for His children.

For me and you.

When I stray and leave Him and give Him attitude and fight Him…He just can’t stop loving me. Unbelievable.

For you did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption as sons, by whom we cry, “Abba! Father!” ~ Romans 8:15

Every prayer to our Father in Heaven who lovingly listened to our request is like us reaching up and pulling at His cloak with little hands, saying Abba! Father! Hear and respond please! We are His children, and His love is wide and deep and unending.

God’s unfailing love for us is an objective fact affirmed over and over in the Scriptures. It is true whether we believe it or not. Our doubts do not destroy God’s love, nor does our faith create it. It originates in the very nature of God, who is love, and it flows to us through our union with His beloved Son.  ~ Jerry Bridges

Rest in that love today.

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Devotional, Life, Motherhood, Parenting, Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our Father Who Loves…

Leave a Reply

