From One Fearful Parent To Another…

news-headlines

I just saw another sad news story about a child almost dying from a pool incident. You probably read about it too.

Every week there is a new scary headline circulating Facebook…

A pedophile recently released from prison. Stick family car stickers putting us at risk of home invasion. A creepo hacking into video baby monitors. Strangers offering rides to kids on their walk home from school. Red dye causing ADHD. Young suicides from bullying. Children swallowing wrist-watch batteries and dying. Armed men opening fire in an elementary school. Recalled toys and rabid neighborhood dogs.

I quite literally could go on and on.

The dangers all around us seem insurmountable. How will our kids ever survive this? And how do we as parents have peace about letting our kids do just about anything!?

And then there are the scary watchful eyes of others. Just say the word spank in some circles and you’re at risk of being reported for child abuse. Allow your kids freedom as they play in the neighborhood and your labelled neglectful or lazy. Someone will always deem you too lax and another too severe.

Are you a fearful mom too?

Every single day I am being told the right way to be a parent and all the things I need to be aware of.

It’s true that our world isn’t necessarily becoming more hazardous, but our awareness is through the roof. So what is the solution besides packing up and joining the Amish? (Nevermind, sadly they had tragedy strike them too.)

I’m not completely sure, because I think this is a new kind of problem that the world of parents have to deal with mostly for the first time.

But I think there are a few ways to help settle the dust of fear for us impressionable parents. And I believe its pretty important that we try to do this, because fear-based parenting is maybe one of the worst ways to get the job done. Here are some idea’s, and I’m preaching to myself here first.

Unplug – Not necessarily completely like the Amish (unless you want to). But when I take elongated breaks from Social Media I almost immediately experience peacefulness. My world is no longer wrapped up in whats going on out there, but in here. Plus cyber social drama adds nothing to our nerves. Am I right?

Skip The 6:00 News – At least on occasion. But I’d say more than that. Trust me when I say that I don’t think ignorance is bliss. However I am guessing we were never intended to bear the burdens of the entire world every single day. Make it so that you don’t have to hear about it all the time.

Remember The Lies – Recently I experienced the reality that everything you read in the News Paper is not always gospel truth. Although the headline may seem juicy, the real truth of it may not be quite so controversial. Use your discernment.

Get Perspective – Watch the documentary Babies. Or read about a poorer country. That will do it. When you see how the world works outside our sanitized Western culture, you realize there are all sorts of ways we all can die, but also lots of ways we can survive in highly dangerous settings. Remember that our way isn’t always the best or only way.

Pray – This is the only tool that can wield actual results. God never made any promises to us parents that our kids would never experience pain, heartache or even death. But Jesus does say in Matthew 7:11, “If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!” Open your mouth and talk to the sovereign God of all things on behalf of your family.

Pick Up The Bible – And read it, of course. Peace and biblical wisdom can be found there. It is after all where we discover who God is and how we ought to live. Our help comes from Him alone, so cling to Him! “The Lord will keep you from all evil; he will keep your life. The Lord will keep your going out and your coming in from this time forth and forevermore.” ~ Psalm 121:7-8

I am no expert on this matter, so these are just suggestions. And like I said, I am preaching these things to myself first. But hopefully this is useful and we can all start to relax a little!

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Culture, Homemaking, Life, Motherhood, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to From One Fearful Parent To Another…

  1. we have common interests, i like you blog check mine! quintilluspollux.wordpress.com

  2. Great post! I am all to aware of this awareness. Just the other day facebook informed me of secondary drowning and I thought, hmm, I better monitor my son because he dunked his head under the water twice today. Good grief! I’ll have to try out one of your suggestions…

  3. It is not good for a child to have nervous parents.

Leave a Reply

