A Suffering Spirit Ready For Lent…

truth

“A guilty suffering spirit is more open to grace than an apathetic or smug soul.” ~ Edna Hong

This past Wednesday was the first day of Lent, which today makes it 38 days till Easter.

38 days before Christmas I have decorated and contemplated the beginning of Advent. I am anticipating that exciting day and my whole world is wrapped around the season. But Easter doesn’t usually seem to have the same build up. However I do long for that to change.

It is obviously the crux of my faith, so it should at least have some preparation attached to it. So this year I started a Lent Bible reading plan and will try to fast on something new for a week at a time till the big day. I know it’s not the traditional way of doing Lent, but I am easing into it this year. So bear with me!

The most important thing for me is that I set my heart on the right track in preparation for Easter. We are, after all, Easter people. And I desire to actually live that way everyday and especially at this time of year, and in this stage of life that is chaotic, exhausting and uncertain. I long to be swept away in the thoughtful and present anticipation of Resurrection Day. I really need this right now.

Every morning as I discipline myself to be more intentionally in the Word, my hope is that all the usual minute to minute burdens that invade my time with the Lord will begin to fade into the back ground.

Every other day of the year I model apathy and smugness. Pride runs circles in my heart and tires me to laziness. May these 40 days be different. And maybe they will turn into 365. Because I would rather be broken and vulnerable in life, and in turn open to grace.

“For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God,  not a result of works, so that no one may boast.” ~ Ephesians 2:8-9

Will you participate with Lent? How do you prepare for Easter?

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

