Love, Love, Love…Why Not Love?…

hearts1

Friday is coming people…

Whether or not pink hearts and chocolate are your thing, one thing I know for sure is we all could use a little extra love. Couldn’t we all use a hug? A big one? Maybe even a smooch to go with that hug? It’s also nice to hear that someone loves you. Isn’t it? And you might say giving and getting a little gift is special and fun, and don’t you love both those things?

Yes?

Then why would you skip out on Valentine’s Day?

Oh I know what your thinking. It’s a big commercial money grab and I don’t want to be another lemming following in the frenzy of consumerism. And good for you. But I’m not suggesting that participating with February 14th means you must spend 15 bucks on chocolates and 30 big ones on flowers, not to mention the cost of a nice dinner and movie. Home-made cards, cookies and a meal are far more appreciated and flowers aren’t always necessary.

Again I know what your thinking. But I share my love 365 days a year and for that reason I don’t need a stupid random date to tell me to love anyone. But I wonder, is that true? Because I think it’s just an excuse. Most of us need the reminder to show our love. Life is busy and routines become cemented and its usually the lovey-dovey stuff that get missed. Things like saying kind, special and loving words to our special someone.

So maybe we do need February 14th to remind us?

And although this post may seem to be directed at men, it’s not. Both sex’s should give equal attention to this date.

Men AND woman should take time to do something sweet for the one they love. No matter the budget, this is a time to create something to express our hearts affections. Heck, cut a heart out of a piece of paper and write I love you on it! It’s that simple people!

Cynicism is big these days. And sadly it robs us of some of life’s simple joys. And I think this is one of those things we opt out of in the name of so-called liberation. But it ends up being another reason to be miserable. Let’s not let our enlightened cynicism ruin a perfect opportunity to show love.

I’m glad my calendar says Valentines Day this Friday. Life is short. Remember to love. There is no good reason or excuse not to.

Share the love!

 

 

*On a side note, I am well aware that this post will be really annoying to anyone who is single and desires to be married. This post is not for you. My hope is that you experience love from friends and family on Friday!

*Another note: I just noticed the advertisement links that have been added to my post. I didn’t put those there. I guess its a new wordpress thing? I’m not a fan and I’ll try and get some answers on how to stop them from doing it!

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Culture, Marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

