Goodness And God…

surely

Will goodness really follow me all the days of my life?

This one has been tough lately. The last few weeks have been less than good. I could use many other adjectives to describe these weeks. Like: Draining, Lifeless, Long, Dreary, Painful and laborious. You know, words like that. Good was not a word that came to me even once when pondering these last many days.

Except the Bible says that goodness will follow me ALL the days of my life. It doesn’t say that goodness will ebb and flow, or goodness will come in seasons or goodness will be felt during mountain top moments. No. All days that are lived will have goodness.

How can it be?

Because just a few short days ago, I hadn’t slept more than 3 hours a night for weeks. And when the sun came up, I was just trying to survive. Hopeless; feeling like this dreary phase would never end.

Even today after having our first full night of sleep in, well…foreverish, I sit sniffling with a cold that has finally kicked me in the butt. Do not get me wrong, I am so full of endless joy over our full sleep last night! It rocked my socks off! It’s just after all that, I now have to sing for my grandmas funeral in a couple of days with a full-on head cold. And that just really sucks.

It’s not how I wanted it to go.

But if I look for God’s goodness in circumstance’s alone, I will be woefully disappointed. And furthermore, just because the circumstances seem lacking in goodness, doesn’t mean they are.

When Joseph was sold into slavery by his own brothers, that was bad. Not good. Rough day for Joseph, right? Well no, because those circumstances led him to jail, which led him to interpret Pharaohs dreams, which led him to be Pharaohs highest official. I guess God’s goodness followed Joseph even into the day he was made a slave.

God’s goodness in everyday.

Psalm 119:68 – You are good, and do good.

It may seem like a pat-answer, but somehow its the most comfort we could ever have. Because God can’t do anything that it not good.

His creation is good, His patience is good, His justice is good, His grace is good, His discipline is good, His provision is good and His Will is good. All of this wrapped in His perfect love makes all that is bad seem…good.

So even in the fire of uncertain and exhausting circumstance, we have the knowledge of the Holy One and His sovereign goodness. And goodness will follow all of us who serve the Lord every single day of our lives. And our hope comes in knowing that we also will dwell in His house forevermore!

“Oh give thanks to the Lord, for he is good, for his steadfast love endures forever!” ~ Psalm 107:1

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Devotional, Life, Theology, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

