Because My Momma Taught Me…

train

But as for you, continue in what you have learned and have firmly believed, knowing from whom you learned it and how from childhood you have been acquainted with the sacred writings, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus.” ~ 2 Timothy 3:14-15

When asked about his convictions on biblical inerrancy in a panel discussion at a Together For The Gospel Conference, John Piper responded that he had layers to his strong belief from much study on the subject. But the first layer he said was that, “My momma told me it was true.” To which all the men on the panel nodded and clapped as the crowd roared with applause. He then repeated the Scripture written above.

This past weekend I got to sit and listen to a message about Faith At Home at a local Children’s Ministry/Parenting Conference. And the speaker reminded the crowd who the number one influence in a child’s life is: Mom.

That wouldn’t come as a shock to most people, but for whatever reason it was a sobering reminder for me. At that moment I truly realized that it wont be my Godly and wise-in-the-Word husband who will have the most influence on my kids, it will be … me. Not-so-Godly and less than wise-in-the-Word … me.

And Lest you think I am just trying to be “humble”, keep in mind that I know what kind of week I’ve had. And I know how many times I’ve broken mercilessly under the pressure. I also know how often my exhaustion (just on an average week) gets the best of me and I let all sorts of things slide. If a motherhood award actually existed, there would be no nominations comin my way. Oh. Trust me.

Even so, I will be the biggest influence.

And what my children are taught about the faith from me, will have the strongest impact on what my kids retain and follow in the years to come.

Are you fellow mom’s feeling stressed yet?

Or is it just me?

In the Scripture above Paul is admonishing Timothy to remember and hold on to his mothers teaching. We don’t know what happened to Timothy’s father, but we do know that Timothy was raised by his mom and grandma, Eunice and Lois (2 Timothy 1:5), who were Godly woman. They dedicated themselves to teaching Timothy the Holy Word. It wasn’t Paul who made Timothy the man he was, it was his faithful mother. Paul just had the privilege of building on the foundation that was already dug and filled by a steadfast mom.

And it was because of those devoted, God-fearing woman that we have two of my favorite books of the Bible.

It’s a large task God asks of us. Thankfully, it is comforting to know that He alone is sovereign over the outcome.

But I sure hope that one day when my son is grown, if he is asked about his Christian convictions, his first answer will be, “I believe it because my momma told me its true.” I hope that, not for my own glory, but for the glory that is given to Christ when a heritage of godliness is passed from generation to generation.

If there is one ultimate prayer that I have for my family, that is the one.

God, let it be so.

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Life, Motherhood, Parenting, Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

