Welcome Autumn…

smile autumn

Yesterday marked the first day of Fall.

There is something about this season that makes me feel at home. My spirit soars when a sweater is needed after getting out of bed in the morning. It’s a simple enjoyment. The sound of rain on the pavement or hitting my window, the smell of fog and smoke and the comfort of a blanket draped over my legs fills me with an inner contentment that I can’t even fully explain.

Maybe its the stark contrast between the heavy hotness of a long sizzling summer. The rain and the cold are so much more welcomed when heat has been all that is felt for months. Maybe its the fact that it is far easier to get warm when feeling chilly than it is to get cooled down when it’s too hot. Maybe its the colors changing all around like the whole world is being dipped in variations of gold. Maybe its all of the above.

All I know is that God knew exactly what He was doing when He conceived me in this land. Wind and leaves and hot drinks soothe me when I am weary. I love that God made Autumn. He made it to bring Himself glory. And it worked, because I sense His glory surrounding me when I look out on His brilliant red, orange and yellow creation. His glory and beauty swirls around with the wind, rain and dancing leaves.

“Delicious autumn! My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns.”  ~ George Eliot

I welcome Autumn with open sweater covered arms. I hope you embrace it also!

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

