Social Media Massacre…

tumblr_mnvuc1RWUI1r6kfypo1_500

Sorry for the blogging break to all 3 of you who read regularly. I imagine your world has come crashing down and you’ve gone into a severe depression. I hope you will recover.

In all seriousness, I have needed this short break.

I am a stay-at-home mom and I love my job. I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else. But at times this job can lend itself to isolation. And I truly believe that for this reason it is probably moms who are the major users of all things social media. In certain seasons it can be our only form of staying connected. For that reason it is a real blessing.

But the problem is that although there are many benefits to this kind of connection, the downfalls can lead to painful unrest.

We are built to have human interaction. We are made to live in community for mutual edification and support. And Facebook, twitter, instagram, pinterest and blogging will never be able to fill that void. Of course we all know this, but we can live like we don’t.

Lately all these cyber social outlets have been more of a hindrance to my growth than a benefit. I have felt the void more than ever. It was beginning to breed loneliness and jealousy and was pulling me into hopelessness. And I do not want any form of social media to have this kind of sway over my spiritual well-being. It’s just plain embarrassing! Oh how the Saints of old would cringe over my immaturity. So I took a break and the clouds cleared and I was able to see clearly again.

There can only be one answer to this kind of problem. Cut it off.

And I am going to keep having regular breaks in my use of these “blessings” to refresh and remember what is and isn’t real.

The minute I feel my heart stumbling along a wayward path all because some social site is working in the opposite direction and creating seclusion……out comes the sword. It will be a media beheading of sorts. Yup, this is bloody business. Instead of having anything control me, I have to take control of it.

Just because something is amoral and non-sinful does not make it okay if it is an unhealthy habit.

From here on out ALL forms of social media (including blogging) will be heavily managed by a far more conscientious me. If I feel so much as an inkling of dysphoria brought on by social media comparisons I will take a week-long break. And if that doesn’t work, this blog will be shut down along with my Facebook account.

I need to be as whole as humanly possible so I can take care of my husband and family, be a faithful friend, and serve my neighbors. They are more than worth it.

I do plan on continuing to write here. And I hope it will be of some value. But I will not kill myself trying to be impressive or praise-worthy. And I am not going to try to be someone I’m not in order to get more likes or web-hits. God will manage the fruit of this tree.

Maybe you need to take this challenge too. Is social media tearing you down more than building you up? Take control of it with me.

It is amazing how refreshing it feels.

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

