I’m A Christian…Why Should I Care About A New Pope?…

untitled

Today white smoke filled the Vatican sky as “Habemus Papam!” ( We have a Pope) wrung out with joy! The crowd’s roars of delight seemed to be deafening.

And although I have stood on the very ground in which the mayhem was placed and prayed within the walls of the Pope’s home, wandered the halls before staring up in awe at the Sistine Chapel, I still should have no feelings on this event because I’m Christian. Right?

Sure, Pope Francis I is not my sovereign and has no spiritual authority over me. And although it is the belief for Catholic’s that the Pope is the successor of St. Peter, that is not at all my belief based on Scripture. I stand firmly with the Reformer’s and the theology of the Sola’s. Theologically I am at odd’s with Catholicism as a whole. So it is for these reasons that I should not concern myself with today’s events of the electing of a new Pope. Right?

Wrong.

Although today’s news has no bearing on my spiritual walk it does have major significance on all of us, as it is history that weigh’s in the balance of this decision.

The papacy no longer has say in things of government as they once did. But their influence on law’s and government not just in Rome, but across the world is huge. Catholicism is one of the world most dominant religions and what the Pope believes and speaks about moral issue’s has sway.  So we should be very interested and concerned with the ethical stances this new Pope take’s in all manner of issue’s.

One big concern being, will he carry on the banner of Pope Benedict XVI, and speak for the protection of the unborn with conviction? I sure hope so. Catholic’s across the world have been the largest voice in caring for life in the womb. And it would be tragic if there pronounced influence was muted by a Pope who had no care for this serious issue.

Today’s events can set the path of the future. And when we look back at this time in history, what will this Pope’s legacy be? What kind of influence will he have on laws, morals and the all around ethic’s of his many follower’s.

As a Christian in the midst of this, I have security in God’s Sovereign will. I have peace knowing that God set’s up the ruler’s of this world, and He control’s our future. And it is my duty to pray for this world, and those with influence in it. I pray Pope Francis I hold’s true to the Scriptures teaching on life, marriage and serving the poor. And I pray he use’s his clout for honorable purposes and in the end his mark on history in social matter’s is positive.

As Christian’s in this century we must take note of these historical moments, and we must pray. We were placed here for such a time as this. Do not ignorantly sit and watch it pass you by without consulting the one Holy Authority, Jesus Christ on these historically weighty matters.

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Culture, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m A Christian…Why Should I Care About A New Pope?…

  1. Agree with almost everything you say 🙂

    No human being is the Head of the Church.

    Christ alone is qualified for that role.

    We are in the world to interact with it for Christ, therefore what happens in the world, including ‘Vatican life’ concerns us.

    Thanks for your thoughts.

  2. Courtney says:

    Nope doesn’t affect me either way,so I can careless of who’s the new pope ,I can’t believe all the major news networks spent two hours doing a special coverage on this crap he’s probably nothing but a pedophlie anyway!!! . They all are their quite fond of little boys I guess killings and the missing are getting boring to report now.

Leave a Reply

