Jumping Into Freedom…

freedom

The New year has come along with anticipation of a whole new world. My toes inch over the edge, anxiously waiting to jump off steady ground into…well, only God knows what.

2012 was a year of deep realization. Our family recognized God was moving us on. He was moving us forward. Where that forward would lead we weren’t sure, but obedience to His obvious guidance was our only option. I would be lying if I said it was easy. It was a lot like trudging up hill against a monsoon. So many emotions. So many attempts by satan to discourage us. So many conversations, prayers and seeking guidance from trusted friends and family.

By the Summer we were sure that it was time to start the resume scattering. Except we only felt the call to send one little resume out to one little church in the city next to ours. It was a long shot. But so the process began and then ended with an invitation for Chris to become the Children’s Pastor.

“Transition” is one of those words we have been using a lot since we accepted their exciting offer. Transferring our life from one place to another is more of a mental challenge than a physical one. Home is still where I sit right now, but that will change come summer time. Mentally I am grappling with the reality of that change. Battling the feelings of homelessness.

The church that I have called home for over a decade is slowly fading into the mist, becoming past, not future. And mentally I am getting used to calling my new and still foreign church “home”. In the same way I battle homelessness as I sit in between these two places.

We have had a month and a half to prepare ourselves for this new life. And it has been mournful and exciting, overwhelming and joyful.

This is what we are ready for. We are ready to jump off the ledge of security and trust the Lord will catch us. The time is right and we are willing. But my heart beats at rapid speed and my thoughts race between doubt and courage. My legs are like jelly, and yet I feel…free.

We are right where God wants us. Out of control and using every ounce of faith we have.

We are right where He wants us.

Happy New Year!

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jumping Into Freedom…

  1. Teri Boyd says:

    As you and Chris honour God with your obedience He will bless you richly and you will have much joy. Love you both.

  2. Thank you Teri, we love you too!

Leave a Reply

