Christmas Over Here…

2012 christmas

It has been a slow progression of Christmas readiness over here. We hunted for our tree this weekend and added it to the rest of our decoration. I also completely finished my christmas shopping, which is a huge relief. From here on out, I am trying to soke in the season. I learned a hard lesson last year when sickness ruined the fun of Christmas eve and day, that Jesus birthday is not something we celebrate on just one day. In the same way that we sing of Christ’s death and resurrection every weekend and not just on Easter.

“We venture to assert, that if there be any day in the year, of which we may be pretty sure that it was not the day on which the Savior was born, it is the 25th of December….Regarding not the day, let us, nevertheless, give thanks to God for the gift of His dear Son.” ~ Charles Spurgeon

I am trying to make this season a series of Christmas day’s. Everyday is the celebration of Christ’s birth. Some days are easier to celebrate than others. But I do this in hopes that my expectation for the real day will be muted by the fact that the celebration has been ongoing. The reflection has been continuous. The meaning already felt.

“Immanuel, God with us in our nature, in our sorrow, in our lifework, in our punishment, in our grave, and now with us, or rather we with Him, in resurrection, ascension, triumph, and Second Advent splendor.” ~ Charles Spurgeon

Are you prepared for Christmas?

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Over Here…

  1. susan2009 says:

    Love this idea about celebrating “Christmas Day” each day of the season. That is my wish too although I didn’t know it until I read this post. Just wanted you to know I shared a few sentences and this link on my Facebook.

Leave a Reply

