How To Weather The Weather…After 8 Years…

There is a big blazing ball in the sky today. 8 years ago on this very day that blazing ball was missing. There was plenty of fluffy white stuff, as well as thick grey stuff. And wet drops covered the land.

8 years ago today was my wedding day, and people tried to make me feel better about the rain by saying it was “God’s blessings raining down on us.”

That sorta helped.

But the truth is that the rain didn’t bother me much. I had planned a fully indoor wedding, our pictures rocked some umbrella’s and we made sure to avoid mud. It all worked out.

And as I reflect 8 years later on that day when I committed myself to my best friend, it is very clear to me that God doesn’t bless based on weather. Those who have sunny weather on their wedding day are not any more blessed than those who have blessings rain down on them.

His favor isn’t spread that way.

Marriage was created in the garden by God and the act of a man and woman in the presence of Him committing themselves to each other, much like Adam and Eve did, is a blessing in and of itself. Regardless of sun, snow, rain or wind.

Much like marriage, when trial comes our way we are no less blessed than the couple who is basking in prosperity.

We weather the storms with the Lord’s covenant as our shelter. We remember His Word to us in how to do this thing called marriage.

“Let marriage be held in honor among all, and let the marriage bed be undefiled, for God will judge the sexually immoral and adulterous.Keep your life free from love of money, and be content with what you have, for he has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” So we can confidently say, “The Lord is my helper; I will not fear; what can man do to me?”  ~ Hebrews 13:4-6

I thank Jesus for the gift He gave me this day 8 years ago. I struck gold when I got to say “I do” to my husband. Because after all these years, I can honestly say that I am more in love, more committed and more thankful than ever, in regards to my main man.

Happy anniversary hun, thank you for 8 fantastic years!

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Life, Marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

