Suprising The Deserved…

Over the last month and a half I have been scheming a plan to surprise my husband. He is turning 30. The big 3-0.

Every now and then he would look at me and say, “I’m going to be 30”  with puppy dog eyes that say, “please turn back time”. He is not the type to sit around and sulk; feeling sorry for himself, but it seemed the turning 30 thing was slightly bringing him down.

Something had to be done. And of all the people in the world, he would be the one to absolutely appreciate and enjoy a surprise party. His friends and family are very dear to him, and I can’t tell you how many times he has said to me how great it would be to get everyone together.

So the planning began. The evite was sent to 34 people. The kids were ushered off to nana’s. Friends rallied around to help with distracting him for the day. And it all went off without a hitch.

He was completely oblivious and the shock on his face was absolutely genuine and delightful. He told me that he had so much fun and it was by far his best birthday.

I am so glad, not just because so many people came to celebrate him and there was tons of food and the sun was shining and my deck looked glorious and the surprise was perfect.

I am so glad, because my husband loved it and he deserves it. I can’t think of anyone more self-sacrificing. He is a support for so many people. He gives of himself constantly. For me and for so many others. I was elated to make a whole day just about him. I wish I could have given him more.

So with all that said, I would like to wish a very happy early birthday to my amazing husband.

I am so blessed because you love me! Cheers to you on your champagne birthday!

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Life, Marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Suprising The Deserved…

  1. Oh man I am turning 30 in October and I totally feel your Husband’s pain. I’ve been sulking around, too. Good for you that you threw him a party!

Leave a Reply

