Camp Fire Cooking And BBQ Chicken…

This is the stifling hot time of year when having an oven on in the house is not an option. So the BBQ gets lots of use. I thought I would share a recipe my girlfriend made over our open fire while camping, as well as a BBQ chicken recipe I use often.

My girlfriend is a great cook, and her fire grilled veggies were delicious! She blogs over at Marriage Munchkins & Ministry. Check her out!

Fire Grilled Veggies: Now I don’t remember exactly what was in the mix, but from what I can remember she had All colors of peppers, onions, zucchini, lemons, fresh herbs and I’m not sure what seasonings she used but I am sure you could add any kind you desire. It tasted as good as it looks!

Marinated BBQ Chicken: I like to marinade my chicken before I BBQ it. So this is a recipe I came up with. I never measure ingredients, so bare with me as I try to narrow down the measurements.

3/4 cup olive oil, 1/4 cup honey, 2 tsp’s salt, 4 chopped garlic cloves, 1 tbsp fresh rosemary, 1 tbsp fresh basil, 1 tsp fresh thyme.

Mix it all together and then add chicken. Let it sit for an hour or more. The oil in the chicken make’s it extra flammable, so be careful when placing it on the BBQ. I usually don’t need to use BBQ sauce when I eat this chicken, although it still tastes good with it.

Happy summer time cooking! Enjoy!

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Homemaking, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Camp Fire Cooking And BBQ Chicken…

  1. Those pictures turned out great, I am so glad you had your camera handy! You were right about the ingredients. I coarsely chopped all the veg, tossed in red pepper oil and added montreal steak spice, chili powder and basil and oregano. The natural sugars in the veggies are caramelized and you get to keep your house cool, win-win!

    Chicken marinade looks great. I see a dinner date in our future…

Leave a Reply

