Three Things I Love About Catholics…

Disclaimer: I realize the random nature of this post. But I don’t care.

I like catholics. They are nice people. But when it comes to theological matters I am a devout protestant. Contrary to popular belief there is a large difference between the belief systems of Catholics and Christians in how we interpret scripture, but right now I am not writing about doctrinal differences (although there are many). Today I am writing about the things I love about these guys. And these things are mostly philosophical because I think they get these thoughts very right.

1) Their solemn reverence to a Holy God: Let face it, us protestanty types are not so good at this. We would rather worship Jesus as though He was our homeboy, not as though He was a King on a throne ready to judge us. But if you have ever walked into Mass you would sense the severity of sin and the cross. You feel the reverence immediately, which is so necessary in worshipping Christ. Even the architecture they construct in their cathedrals screams of exaltation to the King of Kings.

2) They are sold-out to the pro-life cause: Again us protestants are woefully behind in our support of all things pro-life. We are good at lip service and bad at action. We don’t give our time or money to the cause, and at the moment it is the catholics who are holding down the fort on these matters. They are involved politically and socially and are very dedicated to giving their money to save lives. Catholics understand that little boys and girls are in great danger, and they respond accordingly. We christians are far to happy to let them lead the pack.

3) The concept of Godparents: For many Catholics a godparents main duty is to be present at the childs baptism. But culturally this idea has morphed into something much more. I like the cultural shift with this one. I love the idea of picking people to play an important spiritual role in our children’s lives. I think it oozes christian community and support in the difficult but terribly important role of parenthood. I understand that many people surround their children with a support network without the formal invitation of becoming godparents. But I like a little formality every now and then.

And that is my list.

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Culture, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

