Kitchens, Beds And A Rabbit Who Get’s it…

I have a confession to make.

I don’t make my bed everyday. *Insert horrified gasp here*. When it comes to telling my kids to make their beds, it is going to be a pathetic case of the pot calling the kettle black. Which means my foot has already been shot, and I haven’t even begun to train my kids in this area. But I have to say that I love when my bed IS made. When I have the time to properly make my bed (and when I say properly I am mean not blankets and pillows thrown into the middle of my bed, which is how I usually “make” it), it fills my soul with delight. Every time I walk into our room to get something, a glimmer of glee infects my mood.

Even though if you were to walk into my house at this very moment you would see what would look like a home that inhabits Tasmanian devils (which in a way is sort of true), I actually really love and thrive when things are orderly.

For instance my kitchen. Probably the place I spend most of my time. Cooking, cleaning, cooking, cleaning, baking, cleaning, cooking. You get the point. When my kitchen is clean and everything is in its place, my little heart pitter patters with elation. I literally feel relief from the chaos of this world, simply when my bed is made and my kitchen is clean.

This should safely reveal how nuerotically plain I am.

I will forever be a plain Jane. No one is going to mistake me for the mom who has it all together. I am not that woman. My baby bag was bought at London Drugs on sale for $4.99 (and it’s not actually a baby bag, it’s a beach bag…whoops). My hair is usually pulled back in a pony tail and my roots are always dark. I dress…..comfortable. Which is another way of saying, I don’t really care how I dress. I will never be what some call a “yummy mummy”. I am not carefully kept. I am worn and shabby.

But I love the place I am in. I have more than I have ever deserved, and like the Velveteen Rabbit says above; the only people who will judge me for it, are the ones who don’t really understand. And that’s okay.

So I will try to light up my life by making my bed more consistently and cleaning my kitchen all throughout the day. I am happy to let those simple things brighten the mundane. After all it is the ordinary things in our lives that tend to be the things we long for most when they are missing. And keeping the ordinary orderly, seems to be my purpose in life.

Which means, I couldn’t be happier.

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Homemaking, Life, Motherhood, Womanhood. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

