Finished Catching Fire And Mockingjay…

Well I am finally finished the Hunger Games series. So just in case you are dying to read the series or watch the movies, I promise I will not give too much away, but I will give you a spoiler alert (just in case you are one of those people).

I read the first two books in two weeks and then the third took a little longer. Why? I needed a break. They are very easy read’s, but all I really want to say, is that I am glad I am finished and these books are out of my life. Don’t get me wrong I didn’t hate the books. In fact I found them fascinating for many reasons. It is just that any dystopian story is gonna hurt a little. And this one hurts a lot.

Who would’ve thought I would ever read young adult books that are described as being bloody and savage? Not I!

They are gory (although not as gory as I prepared myself for, but don’t let that give you hope; it is still very grim). They are so depressing that I actually think it effected my over all outlook of the world and my circumstances. I know that sounds crazy, but I truly believe my mood was swayed heavily by the mood of the books. It is highly political in its anti-war message, and I appreciated the main character Katniss’ constant inner struggle between justice and mercy. Katniss’ protective yet hunter nature and her desire for peace is what makes her likeable by all who read about her.

So it is no surprise that the two men that vye for Katniss’ romantic attention swing hard in either directions. Peeta is the immutable voice of reason and peace. He is patient and ready to offer grace and forgiveness. His nature is sensitive but strong. Gale on the other hand is driven by justice to the point that he will kill anyone in his path in the name of what he feels is right. He is quick to start war for the sake of the greater good. And he enjoy’s ensnaring the enemy.

But what makes the story so interesting is the underlining message that all authority is corrupt and should not be trusted and the human race is what is wrong with the world. If they didn’t speak of the human race’s evolution, I would tend to agree with this message. Christianity is the only religion that agree’s with this. Humans are rote with sin and any person in a leadership position will be persuaded by their sin in certain ways. The only solution of course is Christ. But this is not a christian book so the hopelessness of this story is exactly as it should be. And although the last few pages aren’t nearly as depressing as I was anticipating them to be, it is still as it can only be…kind of hopeless. It is just a matter of these characters keeping busy in order to “heal” the heavy wounds they have been afflicted with. It is all in their own power that they are to move forward…but it is because of that, that they never really move forward.

A life without Jesus is terrifying. If ever you want to see what that might look like, read these books.

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Books, Culture. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finished Catching Fire And Mockingjay…

  1. Sarah says:

    I agree with the “needing a break” statement. While I read all three of them back to back, I felt as if I needed to read something light and fluffy and HAPPY afterward. I think I got so emotionally vested in THG that it was tough for me to see them end they way they did. If you’d like to (take a break first and then :)) read a similar, yet far less gruesome series, try “The Giver” triology by Lois Lowry. The first book is incredible, followed by “Gathering Blue” and “Messenger.” I actually think I liked them better than THG, it leaves you with not such a sour taste in your mouth…

    • Thank you so much for the recommendation!! I was just thinking to myself “now what am I gonna read…better be something happy!” I defintely will check those books out! Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

