Be Still My Soul, The Lord Is On Your Side…

Every now and than we all need to still our souls. I dare say we should probably do this everyday, but never do. It is only until we reach the end of ourselves that we tend to still ourselves. When we have run out of options. I suppose, there is no better time then that. Last Thursday was one of those evenings. I reached the end of my capabilities with my continual task at hand, and in doing so…I just gave up.

After what seemed like chaos in my inner parts came a calm. A peace. A stillness.

The kind only the Lord can provide. And after a little getaway on Friday night that my wonderful husband arranged for us to refresh ourselves, the stillness…well it remained still.

I assumed that the return to the daily grind would stir the soul yet again. But the calm remained. And even after a very tough night of no sleep last night and a difficult day of a sick child today…my soul remains…still.

How is that even possible?

I think of the words to an old hymn that I love…

“Be still, my soul; the Lord is on thy side; Bear patiently the cross of grief or pain; Leave to thy God to order and provide; In every change He faithful will remain. Be still, my soul; thy best, thy heavenly friend, Through thorny ways leads to a joyful end.”

It is possible through my Lord, who is on my side. He bore patiently a cross, taking on my grief and pain. Now He provides me with everything I need in every change of life. And faithful through it all, He remains. He is my friend, and will complete what He has started with me at salvation. My end is joyful.

Singing this song in my head is my way of preaching to myself these wonderful truths.

The worried stirring in my soul is stilled by my God of grace.

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

