Mortality On The Mind…

Ever since I can remember my mortality has always been on my mind. Maybe it is because my dad talked about death lots, that it became something that consumed my thoughts even at a young age. To this day, worse than ever, I consider my own death and the death of my family and friends regularly.

It especially consumes me when I hear the kind of news none of us want to hear. When someone we know whether closely or from a distance is reaching the void between this world and that world. Just over a month ago, my uncle was basically at death’s door. But the Lord healed him, and today he is back home living well. Also this weekend a beloved woman from our church just found out she has advanced cancer and no amount of chemo can cure it. Even though we know the Lord is big enough to heal, and that is our prayer, we still entrust her into His hands.

And today as I was trying to book a night away at a little B&B that Chris and I spent the first nights of our honeymoon and have celebrated anniversaries and mini-holidays at, I got the awful news that the owners wife passed away in a terrible car accident a month ago.

My heart sank when I read her husbands email to us.

We loved chatting with her. She made the best breakfasts. She was an outdoorsy woman who cared a lot about the environment and wildlife. She was pleasant and strong. And I wish we got to talk more about faith with her. But just like that, she is gone.

Our mortality is unpredictable.

I know the strongest people in the world are those who don’t fear death because they are saved by grace in Christ Jesus. It is those people who truly get it. And when we hear of their faith we are reminded again of the promise we have. And it is then that we can say, “Lord not my will, but yours…even in death.”

We don’t know when our time is up or when our loved ones will leave us. The thought of it all is naturally scary, uncomfortable and worrisome. We were never meant to be separated by death. It is not how life was intended. The unknown is one of my worst fears. But what I do know is that Christ ordained all of our lifespan’s long before we existed. And when we pass through that spiritual void, we will be met with our Lord, our Love…the One who chose us.

And with that knowledge it is us who get to say to our mortality, “Where O death is your victory? Where O death is your sting?! (1 Corinthians 15:55)

Thank you Jesus that our victory over death is won in You! No longer does it have dominion over me!

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

