Finished The Hunger Games…

I have finished reading The Hunger Games and I have to say it has left me with no desire to see the movie. Although I have seen trailers for it, I still have my own version of Katniss and Peeta and Gale. My imagination has provided me with pictures of Prim, Cato, Haymitch and the rest. And I like my versions better.

And on a completely artistic note, I can’t stand the idea of watching hollywood’s version of the actual game itself. Both because of the horror of it and I just can’t fathom them getting the feel of the book right. Not because I think hollywood sucks, but because it is almost always impossible to get that right in a movie.

But I have admittedly been drawn into the world that Suzanne Collins has created, like a sucker punch to the gut. I loved reading it, just as much as I hated it.

The Hunger Games is my worst nightmare. My mind cannot come up with a more heinous idea that a “civilized” world could inflict on it’s citizens. It is both completely unrealistic and strangely possible. When I think of history and all the dreadful things “civilized” nations thought was okay, it is a reminder that none of it is outside the realm of possibility.

Before you think I am a crazy conspirator, I do not believe this is in our near future as some people do. I am just saying that when you deal with a sinful world, all forms of evil are feasible.

It would be very easy for me to come up with some spiritual interpretation of the book, but I am not about to do that. I actually think it is far more political. And I imagine I have to keep reading on to the next books in order to get exactly what kind of political direction Collins is taking the book.

So will I keep reading?

Yeah, probably. But only until I can’t stomach it anymore. I’m not going to read anything that might stumble me.

My curiosity will probably win out and I will move on to the next book Catching Fire. And there may be a few more posts as I keep reading. So hang in there, my band wagon ride is not quite over yet!

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Books, Culture, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

