Earning The Parental Badge…

I earned Mother’s Day on Sunday.

I knew the day was going to be less than your average day for mother’s, just because my husband works Sunday mornings (which means sleeping in and/or breakfast in bed was out), and we had family plans for the evening. I was fine with that. I don’t need to be pampered, I can be content with a card and a hug from the kids.

But the day turned into something none of us had planned.

Just as we were about to round-up the kid’s and head home after an enjoyable and somewhat exhausting evening with family, my little Lucy decided to get curious and stuff her entire hand into a freshly poured, boiling hot cup of coffee. I lept to my feet, scooped her up, ran her into the bathroom and stuck her very red hand under cold water.

She screamed, and thrashed her little body, and screamed, and screamed.

At first I thought it would be okay. But then I saw the skin of my poor little girls finger’s begin to bunch up and hang off of her. This was more serious than I thought.

We rushed her to Emergency, were she continued to scream and thrash for what felt like forever. Mama bear was raging inside. Why weren’t they helping my baby!? Did they not see the agony she was in?! Even the other people waiting were rooting for us to get her looked after. In fact they would come check on us after we were separated into our own little sections, to make sure she was doing okay. After a dose of Tylenol, Advil and codeine she was loopy enough to settle down. So they bandaged her up and we went home.

What a day.

I am quickly learning just how motherhood is earned. Anyone can be a mom by having a baby. But when the rubber meets the road, we are called to give of ourselves for the good of our kid’s. In a sense we have to earn it. And when my little girl was experiencing the worst pain she had ever experience, I was her advocate. Sometimes mother bear has to roar in order to protect her young.

I am happy to say that even after the prognosis was second degree burns to three of her fingers, she is doing wonderful. She is my little warrior. She even handled a painful dressing change at the doctor’s office this morning like a champ.

I’m proud to be her mama!

I even got a lovely mock Mother’s Day on Monday, which included me sleeping in and getting breakfast in bed. My husband is champ too.

I am so blessed.

Here are some pic’s of the kid’s lately. With the recent heat wave, we have spent most of our time outside. I love these guys so much…and you’ll see why!

Yup, the Lord is good to me.

“Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” ~ 1 Thessalonians 5:18

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Life, Motherhood, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

