Dandelions…

This is the time of year when I look at my yard and I long to have the time to go outside and pick weeds…plant flowers…mow…weed wack…and do all things gardening. My yard is a mess right now so it needs some TLC.

And the bane of my existence are those little yellow plants we call dandelions, but I just call them demons. They are almost impossible to manage in my yard. I despise the way they look, and they pop up everywhere! I hate them.

With all of this beautiful weather we have been blessed with, the kids and I have spent a lot of time outside. They have even been donning shorts and t-shirts, it is very exciting! So we were outside last week and my little boy picked what he called a “Fower” (flower), but what I call a demon. I tried to explain to him the difference between weeds and flowers, but that clearly became pointless as he was way too excited about his new-found friend “fower”.

Lucy soon joined in on the action and began picking dandelions excitedly.

For some stupid reason this bothered me. I didn’t want them enjoying such an awful plant. Flowers are to be admired, not weeds! But they were having so much fun.

And all of a sudden it hit me. I am such an embittered adult! Here my kids are enjoying God’s good earth and all I wanted to do was destroy it in the name of “this is the real world”. Kid’s don’t care about the title of the plant or that we adults have categorized it as a weed. All they care about is the fact that they are yellow and pretty and there are lots of them to pick and enjoy!

If my son were to hand me a bouquet of “fowers” called dandelions that he picked just for me, would I reject them? Of course not.

Children enjoy the things that are beautiful in this world. This comes out of their faith that the world is good, fun and to be enjoyed. Sure, as adults we know the truth of what happens in the real world, and it is not always pretty.

But I would like to take a page out my kids book and just appreciate the beauty that is all around us, and not dwell on the things I can’t change. Positivity doesn’t come naturally for me. Thank goodness I have oblivious children to learn from.

So pick away my children, enjoy those bright yellow beauty’s. I would happily accept a gift of them and display them in a vase, if you so desired to hand me some!

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Life, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

