Jokes And Devotion…

Marriage is the butt of many jokes these days.

A recent study shows that men who are married live longer than single men, but they’re a lot more willing to die.

You know, that kind of thing.

It’s funny to poke fun at our struggles. Even marital ones. I get it. It feels good to know that others understand. And some of the jokes are actually really funny.

I wonder how much it helps us though…

Devotion is more than just irritated joking. Devotion is working to make the things that we joke about no longer funny or true. Marriage is more than just committing to each other through thick and thin. I could stick with Chris throughout the bad out of a feeling of duty and hate him along the way. I could stick with him and make his life miserable in the process. He could do the same to me.

Devotion is different though. I devoted myself to him a long time ago…and that looks more like loving him through the struggle’s, even when I don’t feel like it, or when he doesn’t deserve it.

I am devoted to making his life enjoyable. Just like he is devoted to making my life a joy.

Maybe this is just a sappy post about my love for my husband. And if that’s the case, I am totally okay with that. However I believe we can all use a helpful reminder of our marital responsibilities. Laughing about it is okay. But marriage is no joke.

Go ahead and love your spouse…devote yourself to them again. Try to make their life a little more enjoyable today. You will spend the rest of your days with him, make it a pleasure, not a drag.

Good word Luther!

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

