New Mercies…

“The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” ~Lamentations 3:22-23

The life of a mother is one where mercy needs to refresh us every morning we open our eye’s. Obviously this applies to every human-being no matter what their vocation or place in life. But I find as a mother, mornings can be particularly difficult. And the very knowledge of God’s steadfast love and faithfulness, regardless of what happened yesterday, or what happened throughout the night, we find ourselves desperate for His renewed mercy.

In the book of Lamentations we find Jeremiah dwelling on God’s wrath on his people. He is sorrowful and horrified. Filled with grief and anguish over the destruction of Jerusalem. But then in chapter 3 his tone changes. Jeremiah remember’s something. He remembers his afflictions and wanderings, and in this remembrance he recall’s God’s mercy on Him. He is reminded of His loving Father’s compassion. And so begins some of the most hope-filled section’s of scripture. Hope in the midst of uncertainty.

As a mom of two toddler’s I find myself in a constant battle of self-doubt. Am I choosing my battles correctly? Was I too harsh? Was I too weak? Is he sick, teething or just being disobedient? Why is nothing I’m doing working? Why do I feel like everyone is judging me? Am I doing anything right?

It is constant. And at the end of the day, I am left with the nagging feeling that I could have done better in almost everything I did that day. Us mom’s feel the weight of our task. We are dealing with humans here. We have been entrusted in the up-bringing of little soul’s to become spiritually sound, healthy, happy, society-changing adults. And everyone is watching. Our duties, although they may seem small, have great impact. And maybe I am the only one who feel’s this way but the knowledge of that scares the pants off me.

But His Mercies are new every morning.

So what are some of His mercies? His mercy is in every breath that fills my lungs. It’s in the food in my refrigerator and the blankets on my bed. It is in the health of myself and my family. And the water that comes pouring out of my faucet. His mercy is in the cross that bore my sin and the promise of eternal dwelling in glory. It is in the church body that holds me up in prayer and encouragement.

It is in His Holiness, Faithfulness, Love, Justice, Sovereignty, Truth, Wisdom and Righteousness. All these that are ours to behold and reflect on.

It is everywhere, in almost everything, beckoning us to notice and give thanks.

Every day He renew’s us. He remind’s us of where we have been and then lovingly brings us through each task. And regardless of the day I’ve had, I know tomorrow is a new day with new mercies. The thing about motherhood is that even in my doubts, I serve a God who can use my failure’s to bring about His good. And I can do my part, prayerfully, with the expectation that His Will will be done.

His compassions never fail.

“The Lord is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.” ~ Lamentations 3:24

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Devotional, Life, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Mercies…

  1. princess Courtney says:

    It’s not just you, my pants are scared off too.

Leave a Reply

