I Wrote A Book!

Okay so before you think you should become my best friend because I am about to come into some real J.K Rowling money, let me confess that I meant this title to be a tad misleading. I did indeed write a book…but it is no Tolkien! A few months ago, I had an idea for a children’s story based on Matthew 6:26-28, where Jesus teach’s about anxiousness and worry. I decided I would write this story as it came to me and then I could read it to my kids. It only took about an hour and I had completed my story (which should tell you just how good it really is). Of course then I realized I would need to illustrate this tale if I wanted my kids to sit and listen to it. I am not an artist. I dabbled as a small child. It didn’t go anywhere. So, I had to get creative. I knew that I was good with publisher (yup, I know this makes me seem ancient), so I was going to have to “illustrate” my story using shapes and textured colors.

When I was finished I put it all into a shutterfly book and vwaallaaa…I had a storybook for the kid’s. After my husband read it, he insisted we try to have it published (and probably properly illustrated), so I looked into it. After doing some research it was pretty clear that it was going to take quite a bit of money and investment to really get this thing published and promoted. And I wasn’t (and still am not) convinced it is good enough for all of that. So, I decided I would order the book I made and just have it for my kids, which is what my original intention was anyway.

The reason I wrote this story is because I have struggled so much in my life with worry and anxiousness. And every time I read the words of Jesus, I am struck by His ability to bring me peace amongst the storm. I want my children to grow up with that peace. I want them to know of His active love for them.

My story is called Ned & Chloe…A tale about lilies. If you have an interest in getting a copy, you can leave me a message on this post with your email. Unfortunately the cost is $35.00, which I am completely aware is a ridiculous cost for a children’s book. And I am sure that will ward off anyone with even the slightest interest in buying the book, but I thought I would throw it out there anyway (the cost is so high because of shipping…it is by no means making me rich).

So here are just a few pictures of the book…

Even though this book has not the greatest writing and even worse illustration, I worked hard on it. And I hope my children will learn and know about the wonderful love of Christ. If this story helps them in the right direction, it was well worth it!

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Homemaking, Life, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Wrote A Book!

  1. I think your chidlren’s book is wonderful. The illustrations are bright and vibrant and the ryhmes are engaging. If it was sitting on a shelf in a book store and I had a little one that worried a lot – it would be the perfect find. I hate it that is costs so much to get somethign published. I really think this ones deserves a place on the shelf:)

Leave a Reply

