Need The Sun? This Is New For Me…

I have been sorta smug about the fact that I am not someone who is prone to seasonal depression. I love rain. I love snow. None of that stuff gets me down. I know a lot of people who are very prone to this sort of thing. I used to work with a girl who had to have a vitamin D light shine on her all day long because she got depressed during the winter months. I thought that was ridiculous.

So now I have to admit something. Last week we had lots of snow and I loved every minute of it. But because of the extremeness of the cold we stayed inside most of the time. And then after the snow came lots of rain. Nothing but wetness all around us. Day in and day out. Rain. Wet. Darkness. The kids were ornery and I was feeling cooped up. And then something amazing happened today. The clouds rolled away and revealed a bright and happy sun! And I swear I saw it smile and wink at me. It was miraculous! It revealed every little dust bunny and every smudge on my windows, but I didn’t care the sun was shining!!! Oh the energy I felt in that moment. I wanted to get outside and do…I dont know…anything!

But more than that I realized something I must not have noticed all winter long. I was bummed! Clearly I was feeling some slight level of depression to warrant all of these energy inducing feelings I was having. Without knowing it, I was struggling with the seasonal issues all those people I know complain about. So here goes my official apology to all you folks out there that I may have poked fun at because you grow weary of the dark winter and need vitamin D lamps to shine on you to get you through…I’m sorry!

I get it now.

I love you sun…please show yourself more often…we miss you and need you!

So on that note…Do any of you (particularly mothers) have any good idea’s as how to survive these dark months when you have kids at home?

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Homemaking, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

