Security In Uncertain Times…

This decrepid looking airplane above is my son’s toy. Yes, the wings amongst other things have fallen off and it is looking rather grim. But this dollar store toy at one time was Ben’s treasure. He would not go to sleep without it. When it went missing I would ferociously look for it in fear that he wouldn’t nap or go to bed without it. It has not-suprisingly lost its appeal and Ben no longer needs it for his comfort. But at one time he did.

He was comforted by the presence of his plane. It made him feel secure. And my aim as a mother is to help my kid’s along in what comfort and security is. For now they can find solace in material things like blankets and teddy’s and wingless toy airplanes. But one day my desire is that they will go somewhere else for the presence of comfort.

Life is a series of uncertainties. We don’t know what lays ahead. It could be good or it could be bad. But we all must push on, not knowing what we may embark on. There are all sorts of things we could worry about as we live in times of great uncertainty. But we move forward hoping for the best.

My kid’s will one day know what I am talking about, but for now, they rest in their parents ability to take care of them and hand them their favorite toy before bed. But one day I hope they will desire the infallible. My prayer is that as they grow up they will learn that material things do not bring peace. But Jesus does. The rest they need is within the Man who came here, imputed our sin onto Himself and in all loving justice bared the wrath we so deserve. In Him we find our security. An eternal security.

Every night before bed we read to Ben the verse that is on his wall…“Those who live in the shelter of the most high, will find rest in the shadow of the Almighty”. Psalm 91:1. And every night we read to Lucy the verse that is on her wall…“In peace I will lie down and sleep, for you alone O Lord will keep me safe.” Psalm 4:8.

May they know that rest, peace and security comes from God alone. And may I know it more fully too.

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Culture, Devotional, Motherhood, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

