The Truth Of It All…

These are my kids perched sweetly in front of our christmas tree. Aren’t they cute in there new pajama’s?

I have read a number of different blogs (especially recently) where people describe the truth of there lives as less than idealic, contrary to what it may seem to the rest of the world. I am very aware that as a blogger it is easy to only present the lofty side of my life. It can be tempting to be less than truthful and only write about the everyday grind as though I take it in great stride. And so some may read my words and believe that I handle life and difficulties like a champ. Even though I know that is not the truth. Being a blog reader myself I certainly feel that way about some of the people I read about.

In a social networking world where we experience people’s lives through sound-bites and pictures it is easy to become disillusioned to what reality truly is. If you spend enough time on Facebook you will start to compare your life to other “friends” lives. You might look at someones pictures and status’ and think “wow, I wish I could go to Cabo…or I wish my kid was as advanced as there kid…and why doesn’t my husband ever come home with a diamond necklace for me?”

In a way we start believing what we are seeing is the everyday life of these people. We forget that everyone goes through the daily grind in their own way. They just don’t usually post pictures of their bumper to bumper commute to work or their freshly destroyed house from the kids.

So if you are finding yourself walking away from the computer feeling like your life is less than it should be, take heart……everyone’s is. Realize that this is the nature of our time. We take pictures on our iPhones and edit them so they will look vintagey and hip. Then we place it on Facebook or on a blog for the world to see and make them think our lives are cool and exciting.

But we all know that the original picture was not nearly as cool and the circumstances around it might have been less than ideal.

And by the way the truth of the picture of my kids above is pretty chaotic. The kids don’t have smiles on their faces because getting them to sit together nicely was irritating for both of them.

This was the truth of it all…

Less than ideal indeed…but who would of known!

To read more on this topic by people who are way more articulate than I am, go here and here and here.

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

