Who Is The Sexiest…

So guess who the sexiest man alive is?! Bradley Cooper!

No, I don’t actually care who People Magazine crowned the sexiest man alive. I just happened to go on msn.com and there he was in all of his sexy glory, with a headline above his sexily greased hair, 2011’s Sexiest Man Alive. And I thought to myself, “wow, what a claim!” Actually, I first thought to myself, “Really? Bradley Cooper?” (I don’t actually find him sexy at all).

So after navigating myself through all sorts of random msn.com entertainment news pages, I stumbled upon a page called, “Sunken dreamboats: 13 Stars Who Lost the Sexy.” Obviously in lue of  Mr. Coopers recent branding. After clicking through all 13 of the then and now pictures of poor saps chosen for this cruel game, I realized something. All that had happened to these dreamboats was they got old (and some got some bad plastic surgery). Which means I am sure that there will be a similar caption beside Bradley Coopers then and now head shots 30 years from now.

What a terribly unfair game! Of course Val Kilmer isn’t going to look as good now as he did 25 years ago. Give the guy a break….he’s getting old. We are all getting old. We can’t get away from it. No matter how much anti-aging cream we smear on our faces, the inevitable is going to happen. Please no one compare myself at 20 to myself when I’m 50 (or even now for that matter).

But it is all just a reminder of how the world views things like aging and sexyness. Aging is evil. And yet really, as we get older we are being sanctified…growing in holiness…hopefully becoming more like Jesus. When I think of some of the people I know in there 60’s I see beautiful, wise souls. And although they don’t see it in themselves, I see them looking more and more like the One they serve.

I know I won’t be sexy in the years to come, but I hope to inch my way to holiness. I hope to ooze wisdom…and reflect Christ.

Laugh at the thought of sexyless aging….and seek strength, dignity and wisdom!

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

