Marriage And The Fruits Of The Spirit…

I have a confession to make. I am a lousy spouse. My husband is by far the better spouse in our relationship, and I’ll tell you why. He is humble and I am not. I am also very stubborn which is quite possibly one of the worst traits a spouse can have. The reason for this is because a stubborn spirit is pretty much another description of pride. I hate that I struggle with this. But when it comes time to admit I am wrong in an argument and apologize…I…just…stall.

My husband on the other hand, only needs a little time of reflection to realize when he is wrong. And when he realizes it, humility pours out of him like a waterfall. He is quick to say sorry. I am slow to say sorry.

Because he takes very seriously his role as being the leader of the home, he understands the deep responsiblity he has been entrusted to. He knows what God expects of him, which means my amazing husband, like Jesus, knows he has to rely heavily on the strength of the Lord to be a humble leader.

I can honestly say that my husband dies for me all the time, just as Scripture demands him to (Ephesians 5:25). And I am so grateful to him for that.

It is amazing how having the Spirit in us is essential to a happy marriage. If we think of the fruits of the Spirit it is easy to see how if we all encompassed these traits our marriages would be joyful. But we know that in reality we probably only inhabit one or two of these traits at a time. I wonder if this would change if we started asking God on a regular basis to fill us with His Spirit so that we would reflect the fruits and have it positively affect our marriage and relationships.

What if every day my husband saw love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control in me. How would that affect how we speak to each other? Or serve each other? How would that affect our arguments?

I imagine I would look a lot different. I would probably look more like my husband. But more than that I would hope to look much more like Jesus.

Hmmm.

Anyway…that is my random reflection ramblings for today.

 

Picture Credit: Picture taken from Flickr.com

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

