He’s A Two Year Old Now…

Its official…I am the mother of a little boy who is two. On this day, two years ago I was laying in my hospital bed overwhelmed with all sorts of feelings. I remember what I thought of when I first laid eyes on him. Which, by the way, was not the way all the movies make it out to be. I wasn’t able to actually see or hold him until after I recovered, due to some physical trauma. But when I was wheeled in to see my boy, and they handed him to me, all I could think was….”Oh my goodness, he’s mine!”

The days and weeks that would follow would be ones that I would have never expected. I never expected being on bed rest. I never expected having so many people in and out of my home. And I never expected the out-pouring of love and care we received.

I will never forget laying on my bed (during my bed rest) and all I could hear were my mom and sister in the kitchen talking and laughing as they were cooking some lunch. The door bell kept ringing, and I would hear the voices of neighbors, and then another ring and another voice of a friend. It was a revolving door of friends and family dropping off food and gifts. I could hear Chris outside raking leaves, and then a friend join him to help. I layed there and I just cried. Cried and cried and cried. I was experiencing the body of Christ at work, and it was overwhelming.

With all of the unexpected difficulties we faced, we were never without the love of God shown to us by His living and active church.

Ben was born into so much love.

Today he is a healthy, active, goofy little boy. He is in the thick of the terrible two’s. His lack of ability to communicate frustrates him to the point of melt downs on a daily basis. He can get irritated by his sister taking his toys from him. And for some reason the words please and sorry are really difficult for him to say.

The beauty of my little boy is that although he has his struggles that we are trying to guide him through, he has so many qualities that inspire me. Ben shows his affection by giving us and Lucy kisses all the time. His playfulness is contagious. He can turn anything into a game. And even though Lucy can get on his nerves, most of the time he is surprisingly patient and affectionate with her. Ben loves books and being read to. He can stay interested in a story that is far too long for a two-year olds attention span. Ben is already sensitive to prayer. He reaches out his hands to us when it is time to pray before dinner, remaining quiet till he hears Amen. Ben sings Jesus loves me with the actions; showing his muscles at He is strong, making his hands into a book at the Bible tells me so, and pointing to his heart at Yes Jesus loves me.

I could go on and on as to how his hugs make any current worries I am having dissipate. And how his sense of humor makes me laugh everyday. But really I want to give glory where glory is due. I thank God for my little boy. He was an answer to so many heart wrenching prayers. And the Lord remains with us through all the ups and downs parenthood brings.

Although Ben’s party is not till the weekend. Today Ben is getting some balloons and a cupcake after dinner. Tonight a dance party will ensue. And all day, I will be thanking Jesus for my Benjamin.

Picture Credit: All picture taken by myself or Chris, except the second to the bottom, black and white picture, which was taken by Anita Chapman (Perfect Moments Photography)

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Life, Motherhood, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

