Thinking About Halloween….

Halloween is fastly approaching, which means there have been quite a few conversations had between Chris and I as to what our stance on it is. We do this every year. We re-access how we feel about this tradition. As Christians it is important to thoughtfully think through these issues. And even more so when you have kids who will probably participate in the festivities of Halloween in some way. There is much positive and negative history involved in the day, so we have to dig and ask ourselves what does the Word say on these matters? What does our conscience say? And what does the culture say?

Both Chris and I participated in Halloween activities growing up. And my mom had created one boundary for my sisters and I and that was we weren’t allowed to dress up as anything evil. I was a hobo a couple of years and then a cat about 5 years in a row.

Romans 12:2 says, Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect. A big part of being in the world but not of the world is how thoughtful of it you are. The easiest way to be conformed to the ways of the world is letting it wash over you without any thought. Without knowing it your world view will inevitably begin to reflect the world around you, because your just not thinking.

I believe that with discernment we can begin to redeem our culture. But we are gonna have to start thinking deeply about it first.

Don’t have an opinion about Halloween? Learn and think about it. And then get one.

Chris and I will be participating in Halloween by handing out candy to the children in our neighborhood. We are going to hopefully show kids that you don’t have to have a big devil with a grave yard in your front yard in order to experience the day. We hope to be a pleasant home for the kids to knock on, that they will be met with nothing to give them nightmares and smiling faces on the other side of the door. My kids will be dressed in their costumes, before it is time for them to go to bed. And we will have some fun with friends.

While Chris and I have thought through our decision to be apart of the Halloween tradition, I do not want to minimise those other Christians who have decided to not be a part of it. If there conscience will not allow them to participate I would never want to mock them or persuade them otherwise. As Romans 14:13-14 says, Therefore let us not pass judgment on one another any longer, but rather decide never to put a stumbling block or hindrance in the way of a brother. I know and am persuaded in the Lord Jesus that nothing is unclean in itself, but it is unclean for anyone who thinks it unclean. In this way I want to be sensitive to my Christian brothers and sisters who in thinking over this issue have come up with a different understanding then us.

So for the Ross family, Halloween will be an opportunity for us to engage our community. And it certainly is a hefty reminder for me to pray for my neighborhood.

Picture Credit: Yep, I got game! That is a picture of a pumpkin I carved a few years ago. 🙂

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Culture, Motherhood, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

