Borsht…

Mmmmm…it’s soup season!

Why do I always feel like I am cursing when I say Borsht? Oh those crazy Germans and there angry sounding words! Anyway, I think Borsht is one of the greatest soups ever! I know that makes me seem really old, but this soup is so yummy and very good for you. So here is the recipe that has been passed down to me from my mom. She grew up eating this soup, as did I, and so will my children! It was pretty cute watching Ben devour this soup when I made it recently…wish I took a picture!

*One thing to remember with this recipe is you have to plan ahead. You will need to boil the meat the night before you plan on making the soup.

Borsht

1-2 lbs beef (cheap cut of meat like stew, chuck, short ribs), 2-3 cups shredded cabbage, 1 large onion, 2-3 beets (leaves included), 1 small turnip, 3-4 carrots, 1 14 ounce can stewed tomatoes, 3 cloves garlic (sliced), Salt to taste, Pepper to taste, Pinch chillies (optional), Fresh dill or 5 tsp of dried, 1 bay leaf

In a large pot half filled with water boil meat along with the garlic, dill, salt & pepper, bay leaf, until meat is tender (approximately 2 hours).  Let sit in fridge over night and scrape off fat off top. Remove meat and add vegetables starting with turnip, carrots and beets. Let cook about 15 minutes then add onions, beet leaves and cabbage. Cook until cabbage is almost done and add the tomatoes and meat that been cut into bite size pieces. Simmer and taste for saltiness. You may want to add more salt and more dill. Let simmer for about a half hour, until all veggies are soft.

Serve with a dollop of sour cream and enjoy!

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Borsht…

  1. I know what you mean about the swearing :P. I shall get round to making this I think – so perfect for this time of the year.

Leave a Reply

