Thankfulness Is The Will Of God…

“Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”         1 Thessalonians 5:18

I remember a very long time ago my grandpa giving thanks to the Lord in prayer that our government gave us a holiday to remind us to be thankful. I had never looked at it that way. I usually just think of all the ways my government is screwing up. I never thought to give thanks for them, for any reason at all.

And then there was Paul, who in the middle of severe persecution from his government, would thank God for his current circumstance. He was clearly sensitive to the will of God in his life. It is God’s will on all of our lives that we thank Him. Not that we knock on wood or thank our lucky stars, but that we look to the Sovereign King of the Universe and in whatever circumstance we find ourselves in, we thank Him.

It is always His will that we be thankful.

So happy thanksgiving to you all, I hope you are reminded of how very fortunate we all are. And I pray that the thanks given this weekend will be directed at the one who paid the ultimate cost for us!

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Devotional, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

