“180” Movie

“180” Movie is a 33 minute documentary created by Ray Comfort. Ray is best known for his work with Way Of The Master, which is a show where Ray (in soap box fashion) evangelize’s people on the street using the Ten Commandments to convict them. 180 is mostly about the horror’s of abortion which Ray compare’s to the Holocaust.

“180” Cons: I have to give a hefty warning that this documentary shows many photo’s and video clips of the holocaust, which includes all of the dreadful footage you have probably seen before and never want to see again. I closed my eyes through most of it. There is also one or two photos of aborted babies, which I also looked away from seeing. Some people don’t agree with “shock value” teaching, and I wouldn’t completely disagree with them. However I am willing to admit that there is a place for it, as it is showing the realities of the crime. On another note Ray Comfort is known for his one-size-fits-all evangelizing method that I am sure works for some, but not for all. He uses this method throughout the film. Ray also gets a little political in some parts, which might bother some people, but it didn’t bother me too much. Lastly, I wish Ray focused more on the Grace side of the gospel, not just primarily judgement.

“180” Pros: Although the footage is disturbing, making the connection between the Holocaust and Abortion is highly effective. And even though he may be using a one-size-fits-all method, at least he is doing something. Most of us just criticize soap-box evangelism and then go about our lives never evangelising a single person. I have to give Ray props for having the boldness to speak to people with such conviction. It is wonderful to see the looks on their faces when they realize how they are contradicting themselves.

I would rate “180” Movie with three stars, purely because it is trying to bring up this largely ignored and extremely important topic. If it starts a discussion then it has done its job. If it truly has changed someone’s mind on abortion (which some people in the film seem to do) then it has also done a good work. And even more importantly, if someone is saved through it, then it has really served a greater purpose.

If you desire to see it…here ya go.

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Culture, Video's. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

