It’s The Gospel…

A couple of nights ago we watched the movie The Blind Side. It was the third time I had seen the movie and like the other two times I was able to maintain my composure until the very end when they show the real Michael Oher and his adopted family the Tuohy’s. At that moment the flood gates open wide and for some reason I have a hard time stopping myself from weeping as I watch the photo’s role by of Michael and his family.

Chris asked me (as he laughed at me, as he always does when I cry at a movie), “what is it about those photos that make you cry”? My answer to him, was one that I had never put to words until then. I said “Because there is something beautiful about seeing a story of someone headed for death, but then given the gift of life. Of second chances. And it is especially beautiful when that person is nothing like the ones giving the gift.” At that moment we both knew what made the story so touching.

Chris said, “It’s the gospel.”

Yes, that’s it!

Movies like these show us a picture of the Gospel of Grace. We are headed down a path towards destruction and then without any special doing of our own, Jesus comes down to us, and rip’s us out of it. We are nothing like God. We are drenched in our own sin. We look like everything opposite to Him. But when we were still sinners, He died for us.

In His perfect Mercy and Grace, we are given everything.

It is always the gospel. And It’s beautiful.

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Devotional, Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s The Gospel…

  1. Princess Courtney says:

    Beautiful

Leave a Reply

