There Is A Season…

I’ve been thinking a lot about new seasons as Fall slowly approaches us (what is with the continued heat?!). As I think about Fall and Winter and Spring and Summer I am reminded of how these 4 seasons that cycle through each year are symbolism to the seasons in our lives.

“For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven…” Ecclesiastes 3:1

Ecclesiastes is one of those great books of the Bible that gives us understanding in the midst of our current place in life. Whether we are mourning or dancing, planting or picking, speaking or listening, there is a time and a place for it all.

A couple of years ago I was a teacher in our age 4 preschool class at my church. It was exhausting, but so worth it. Then I got pregnant and had a son and then I got pregnant almost immediately after that and had my daughter. In lieu of my new stage of life I took a break from teaching in preschool. But I fought a lot of guilt over it. I wanted to be serving in my church, but I just couldn’t do it. I had two babies and there was no time for extra’s.

But Chris and I talked a lot about it and finally I came to grips with the fact that this was a new season in life and it had it’s place. I knew that as soon as this season changed, I would be right back to serving. I am happy to say that the season has changed. Today I began teaching in the age 4 preschool class and like I was before…I’m exhausted. But also just like before…it is still worth it. I wonder how many of us get stuck in our season, without noticing that we have actually moved on from it. It can be a pretty good excuse for those who just don’t want to serve. It can also be an excuse for those who just don’t know how to rest.

Let me finish with Ecclesiastes 9:13. This is a beautiful explanation for why we serve. Why we do the things we do when it is the season to do them. Our satisfaction in our toil is the gift of God. Even though we may not know all His ways, we know we ought to toil. And in our toil…we can be satisfied in Him.

“What do workers gain from their toil? I have seen the burden God has laid on the human race. He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end. I know that there is nothing better for people than to be happy and to do good while they live. That each of them may eat and drink, and find satisfaction in all their toil—this is the gift of God.”

 

Picture Credit: Pic taken from http://www.hd-wallpaper.org

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

