Give Glory To God, And ENJOY Him Forever…

The first question in the Christian Catechism is; What is mans primary purpose? To which, the Catechism’s answer is; To glorify God and to enjoy him forever.

Good answer.

But how many of us enjoy God?

Chris and I started going through a book about the catechism together and we plan on doing it with the kids when they get older. Since we started, I haven’t been able to stop thinking about this question…how do I enjoy God?  If this is part of my primary purpose, do I even do it?

Enjoy Him. What does that look like? The fact that I am even wondering this makes me feel as though this is an obvious issue for me.

I try to obey His commands, I try to give Him the glory, I try to talk to Him regularly, I try to learn more about Him. But how am I enjoying Him. And does enjoying Him involve feelings?

Contrary to popular belief, you can be reformed in theology and still believe feelings have a large part of your relationship with God. My woman’s pastor said “feelings give strength to conviction”. And I agree. We can’t base our understanding and relationship with God solely on feelings. That will set us up for failure, because we are so full of sin that sometimes we just don’t feel like cultivating our relationship with Christ.

But it would also be wrong to say that feelings play no part. They do. We are allowed to feel. In fact God made us this way. We have emotions and we need to use them.

I think emotion plays a lot in how we enjoy God. When I enjoy anything, it is usually because my spirits are lifted, my heart is full, and it is the object of my joy that is making me feel this way. When I am enjoying God it is because I am glorying in the object. The object being God. I am relishing in my affection for Him and what He has done.

When I think about it there are a lot of things that bring me to this place of enjoyment. Music is one of them. When I sing theologically rich songs, my heart is wide open to Him. I am enjoying His presence. Songs like In Christ Alone…

“There in the ground His body lay
Light of the world by darkness slain:
Then bursting forth in glorious Day
Up from the grave he rose again!
And as He stands in victory
Sin’s curse has lost its grip on me,
For I am His and He is mine –
Bought with the precious blood of Christ.”

I feel the truth of these words, and I am overjoyed.

I enjoy Him when I look at my children and see His blessing in my life.

When I look back at trials and see His Mighty Hand guiding me through it.

When I think of my husband and his love for me, I am reminded of the grace of God.

I enjoy Him when I feel His presence in watching the sun go down behind the tree’s in my back yard and I experience the cool breeze across my face.

And when I don’t feel Him, my joy is drawn out from my conviction. From what I know. From what He has revealed to me in His Word. The simple knowledge of my salvation brings me to reverent rejoicing.

“Though the fig tree should not blossom, nor fruit be on the vines, the produce of the olive fail and the fields yield no food the flock be cut off from the fold and there be no herd in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the LORD; I will take joy in the God of my salvation.” Habakkuk 3:17-18

When I imagine the glory of Heaven, I remember that I will enjoy Him and rejoice in Him for all eternity.

Give Him the glory.

And enjoy Him forever.

“You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.” Psalm 16:11

 

Picture Credit: Picture taken of my back yard by me.

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Devotional, Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

