Lest We Forget…10 Years Ago…

We all can remember what we were doing 10 years ago today. And most of us feel the need to tell our story of how we first heard the disastrous news.

My story goes like this:

I woke up to the TV blaring. All I could hear was my mom watching the news and I was slightly annoyed at her ambivalence to my obvious sleeping. I reluctantly got up and began getting myself ready for school. But the TV was so loud I had to walk out of my room directly into the family room to see what the buzz was about. My mom looked at me; blood drained from her face and said “I think this is the beginning of World War 3”! Almost directly after the words left her mouth, I sadly got to witness the second plane fly into the remaining Twin Tower. My mom’s words “World War 3″ rang in my head all day long.

That day at school all of us normally hormonal and obnoxious teenage students were quiet and contemplative. TV’s were on in all the rooms and all of us, including the teachers sat staring at the devastation of that day. The world literally watched in silent terror. Even my little town in Canada felt the deep, somber reality, that the world would never be the same.

I remember letting my thoughts get way ahead of me…”what if the Canadian Army does a draft and my new boyfriend Chris has to go to war”!?

I was scared.

Even today I find myself worried about what may come of this significant anniversary. Will another attack ensue? And if so, where? Who will be next?

This video is a good one…with a good reminder for all of us left behind.

We cannot waste our time with worry. We should live life with urgency. 9/11 is a reminder of how we never know when our time will come or how our time will come. All we know is the message of Christ and its need to be spread.

So when Paul says in verse 36 [Romans 8:36], “We are being counted as sheep to be slaughtered,” he does not mean that God has lost control of his world or his people. He does not mean, therefore, that God can have no holy purposes, or gracious plans, or merciful intentions, or bright designs in this dark and dreadful and God-ordained suffering.

No. What he means is that God, who in his sovereignty hands us over to calamity, will use that very sovereignty to make life, and death, and angels, and principalities, and things present, and things to come, and powers, and height, and depth, and every created thing serve our everlasting joy in God.

Oh, in the coming days of trouble may God grant you sweet sorrow and self-humbling and steady hope in our suffering Savior and sovereign King, Jesus Christ. May the Lord keep you in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on him, because you trust in him. “Trust in the LORD forever, for the LORD GOD is an everlasting rock” (Isaiah 26:3-4, rsv).

John Piper @ Desiring God. Sermon Titled “A Service of Sorrow, Self-Humbling, and Steady Hope in Our Saviour and King, Jesus Christ.” Preached on September 16th, 2001. desiringGod.org

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Culture, Video's. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

