Big And Small…

I have to admit something. I have been kinda (well not always “kinda”) judgemental towards families with only one or two children. I know I currently only have two kids, but we plan on having more (Lord willing). And I know this sounds strange coming from someone who at one time struggled to have any babies at all. Since struggling to have kids I certainly look at it all very differently. But I have to admit that when I hear someone say “Oh we stopped having kids after or second, because they are such a handful”, I start to judge them. It is wrong, I know. Then I get really defensive when someone makes jabs at the family with 5, 8 or 12 kids, because they are the ones obeying the Lord’s command and being fruitful and multiplying.

Sometimes I am so conflicted.

Kevin Deyoung wrote a great article about this matter, which both convicted and encouraged me. We are not to assume the worst in people. We don’t know what there intentions are in child-rearing. So why be so quick to judge? Whether someone has one kid or 15 kids, we are not to assume their reasons are selfish even if they are.

I have so much to learn.

Read the article…http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/kevindeyoung/2011/08/09/love-for-the-big-and-the-small/

Picture Credit: Picture taken from www.zazzle.com

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Homemaking, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

