The Bread Of Life…

I remember the feeling I had when I would walk in the door from school and was met with the overwhelming smell of freshly baked bread. I never grew tired of that beautiful aroma. However, I do remember feeling a little old-fashioned when I had to take that big seedy loaf of homemade bread from the freezer and saw through it twice before I could begin to make a sandwich. I slightly resented my mom for not buying conveniently sliced, white, store-bought Wonderbread. All my friends had it…I was the odd one out. I’m a mom now, and now I get it. My mom cared about my well-being and my health. She wanted to give us the best that she could provide. And making bread was good for our health and for her finances. For those same reasons I have begun to bake my own brown, seedy bread. In fact, I have some baking in the oven right now…and the smell is…breath-taking. One day I plan to teach my children how to make bread, and I look forward to trying new recipes and conquering the art of making a good loaf of bread.

Every culture has some form of bread, so it is no surprise to me that Jesus would refer to Himself as “the Bread of Life”…

“Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst.” John 6:35

Everyone in the world can relate to the need of bread…of sustainance…of satisfying hunger. Everyone on this planet hunger’s and thirst’s for food and drink. Which means this message is for all people…in all places. Jesus is the ultimate satisfyer. He is the only one who will suffice. We need bread, but more than that, we need Jesus to quench the ever-present gaping void inside of us. 

I can’t wait to show my children the ins and outs of baking bread, and I will most definitely teach them a more important lesson in the process…

Jesus is the Bread of Life… 

 

 

Picture Credit: All bread pictures taken by me

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Devotional, Homemaking, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

