Letters To My Kids…

Dear Benjamin,

My sweet boy, you are almost 20 months old right now and you are growing so fast. You are a goof and you know it. You run around with just your diaper on, flop on the couch, squint your eyes pretending to have them closed and wait for me to come tickle you. I can’t keep up with all the new words that come out of you. If my memory serves me correctly the words you have been able to say are; Mommy, Daddy, Baby, Happy, Ya, No, Puppy (which is currently your favorite word), Oh Man, Bible, God, Amen, More, Go Go Go (you always say it three times), Cracker, Plane, Ball, Hi, Bye and Banana (which sounds like “nana”). You have loads of energy and love being outside. You are my monkey! You can climb up and go down our backyard slide all by yourself. Everytime a plane goes by, you look up, point and say “pane”! You love to dance! All kinds of different music gets you on your feet to dance! Most days I dance around with you in my arms and you laugh and giggle. These are my precious times with you. But by far my favorite time of the day is to see you run to Daddy when he comes home from work. You love your daddy so much. And he loves you more than you’ll know. You and him wrestle and play hide and seek.

At this stage we are trying to teach you not to throw things, including tantrums (which is kind of impossible). And I am on the brink of starting the potty training war with you! You are very dramatic, so when you don’t get what you want, you throw your body down to the ground or onto the couch. You get angry when you don’t get your way. Often throwing something in displeasure with a furrowed brow. We are working with you on that. You are starting to take notice of your sister and you usually want to take away whatever she is playing with. Sharing is a common topic for us during the day. But I can tell that you already love your sister. Because when she laughs…you laugh. When she smiles…you smile. You enjoy her happiness…and thats love.

Benjamin you already have so many lovely qualities. I can’t wait to see what the Lord has in store for you. I am proud of you already. My prayer is that you love the Lord your God all your days, till the ends of the earth. I pray you will rest in Him always. Ben, your Father in Heaven is the only one who’s love will not let you down. Jesus paid the ultimate cost so that you can live. So I pray that you would live. Live in the grace of your Saviour. And live to make his name known. Every night before bed, we read you a story from the Bible, we snuggle you, then bring you into your room and say the verse that is displayed on your wall, “Those who live in the shelter of the Most High, will find rest in the shadow of the Almighty”, Psalm 91:1. Then we say our prayers and you go to sleep. I pray that you will continue a habit of reading the Word of God, prayer and resting in His holiness.

I love you so much!

Love Mom

Dear Lucy,

My little Lu Lu, you are so precious! You are pushing 7 months, and I can’t believe it. Where has the time gone with you? I just started you on solids and you have taken to it well. You seemed to really enjoy banana! You are very ticklish, especially under the armpit! I love to be the kissing monster and kiss your feet, legs, tummy, arms, fingers and cheeks. You squeal with delight! Your laugh has turned into gleeful screams now and it is so funny to watch. If a stranger over heard you laughing, they might think you were upset. Your smile melts my heart! You can sit on your own now, which makes life a little more enjoyable for you, because I am pretty sure you were growing tired of being on your back all the time. You love your jolly jumper and you have taken well to the nursery at church, which is a relief! You love watching your brother be goofy. You laugh and smile at his antics and sometimes he hams it up just to get you to laugh. You move your little feet in circles, which is just like me! Everyone that see’s us together says you look like me. And I have to admit, I love hearing that.

Lately you are waking up very early, around 5:30ish. Your dad always gets up with you, like the great dad he is, and feeds you a bottle. He loves spending that time with you. Although the early mornings tend to make us both very tired by the end of the night. Daddy is so smitten with you. He is going to be very protective over his little girl. I love seeing you guys interact with each other. Take it from me, there is something very special between a father and daughter.

Lucy you are a joy. And I know that you will bring so much joy to so many people in your life. I pray that you will first and foremost delight in your Father in Heaven. I pray that He will be the source of your joy. May He be the one you find protection and security in. I pray that you will know His redeeming love and that your identity as a woman will come from your relationship with Him. Jesus’s sacrifice is for your salvation, so I pray that your purpose will come from the knowledge of that glorious Truth. Lucy, every night before bed we give you a bottle and snuggles, we bring you into your room and read you the verse hung on your wall, “In peace I will lie down and sleep, for you alone, O Lord, will keep me safe”, Psalm 4:8. Then we pray and you go to sleep. My prayer is that your peace will come from the Lord and you will find it by reading His Word and praying to Him.

I love you so much!

Love Mom

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Life, Motherhood, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

