Garden…

Chris and I moved into our home 4 years ago. At that time we were renting it from some church friends who planned on going away to school for 3 years and then return when they were done. Plans changed; they decided they would stay were they were, and with much persuasion we decided to buy their home. So over the last two years we have made a few cosmetic changes to our front yard. I have big hopes and dreams as to what I would like it to look like, but I doubt much will come of those dreams. We are doing what we can for now.

One thing I would love to do in our back yard is make my own vegetable garden. Maybe next year. But this year I got started on herbs. I planted Basil, Thyme, Cilantro, Chives, Mint and Rosemary (although someone stole my rosemary bush! So random! I plan on getting another one).  Above are the pictures of these herbs as well as some flowers I planted by our front steps (also displayed in my last post).

I want to be able to take my kids outside and teach them how plants grow. I want them to be able to see it with their own eyes. I want them to know that the miracle of a seed turning into a plant we can eat is a grace from God. I want them to know why we give thanks for our meals. I want to be able to show them tangibly that God is the provider for everything we need. And ultimately they will hopefully glean an understanding of God’s Sovereign  power over the big and little things. I want to be reminded of this truth too.

It is truth…and I forget it more often than I would care to admit.

My Lord will provide…so I don’t need to worry. What a grace…

About hisgracemygrowth

I am a wife and full-time mom of a boy and girl who are 13 months a part. I am a Christ-following woman who is striving to honor God in all my endeavours! I stumble often....but His Grace is sufficient!
This entry was posted in Homemaking, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

